top of page
  • garykhan6

MASTERING PERCEPTION


Recently we talked about making changes and how our thinking must change if we want to make lasting life change. “Change your thinking, change your life.” So we looked at guarding the input that comes into our minds, but there needs to be a reprogramming that must also take place and that reprogramming starts with letting our brain soak up the Word of God so that the Word begins to color what we see.

  • Philippians 4:8-9 (NIV) Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.


In the preceding verses Paul says, “I don’t want you holding grudges, I want you celebrating God and life. Don’t worry and fret about life but put it in God’s hands. So let me sum it all up… I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.”


If you want a fulfilled and joyful life then you need to grounded in the truth of God’s Word– after all it fits the description of true, noble, reputable, authentic.


Paul had done exactly that which is why he could say…

  • Philippians 4:11-13 (TMNT) Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makesme who I am.


When you begin to think this way, you develop a good template. A new perspective.

That perspective is what develops our attitude.

Our new attitude develops our character which in turn determines our future.


What does your future look like for you?

A man read an ad in the newspaper, "Hunting dog for sale, $2,500.00, but well worth it." He called the number and the man told him that he had to see the dog in action. The next morning they met and went hunting early. The dog flushed two birds from a clump of bushes and when they fell into the water, he walked on top of the water, grabbed the birds, and walked back on top of the water. The man was amazed, and bought the dog on the spot. The next day he persuaded his brother to go hunting with him. They flushed a couple of birds and the dog again walked on top of the water, retrieved the birds, and walked back to their boat on top of the water.

He asked his brother what he thought of the dog and the brother replied, "So, you bought a dog who can't swim."

Which brother are you? I want to challenge you to a couple points of action.

  • Guard what you put into your mind in the way of media and people who speak into your lives.

  • Guard your thought life by reprogramming your mind with the Word of God. Search out what the Bible has to say about the situations you find yourselves in and speak those things over and over. Reprogram.

  • Find friends who will reinforce what the word says not friends who reinforce your faulty thinking.

Lately I have been reading God’s Word differently and it has been an amazing change. Instead of a chapter at a time I have set aside 15-20 mins a day just to read a book in the NT. I am currently reading Ephesians. I read the entire book in one sitting every day for 28 days. A few things are happening…

  • I am understanding the letter better. It makes more sense to me.

  • I am finding that I am memorizing the Word of God without even trying and that allows me to meditate on it during the day.

  • The meditation brings about Holy Spirit discoveries that lead to a change in thinking and brings about change.

I would encourage you to try it.

27 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page