top of page
  • garykhan6

Happy Thanksgiving



1 Thessalonians 5:16 (NIV)  Be joyful always;

It is thanksgiving this week and I would guess that there are many who are thinking, "I am not up for Thanksgiving celebrations because life is just too tough right now." I want to encourage you with words from the apostle Paul - "Be joyful always!" Wait! Before you turn away and think I am being insensitive, hear me out!


It seems crazy to suggest much less command Christ-followers to rejoice always.  Really?  How can I be "happy" all the time when life is filled with so much trouble and difficulty? 


And this is not the only place that this command is given.

(Deut. 12:18; Neh. 8:10; Pss. 2:11; 5:11; 32:11; 68:3; 100:2; 132:16; Isa. 29:19; Joel 2:23-24; Hab. 3:17-18; Matt. 5:10-12; Luke 6:22-23; 10:20; John 16:20-22; cf. Pss. 16:8-9; 21:6; 28:7; 132:16; Isa. 35:10; 55:12; 56:7; Zech. 9:9; Acts 5:41; Rom. 15:13; 2 Cor. 10:17; Eph. 5:9; Phil. 2:17-18; 4:4; Col. 1:24; James 1:2; 5:13; 1 Peter 1:6; 4:13).


I dont think that rejoicing always means ignoring human emotions like sorrow and distress, but it is a transcending of those things with a focus on true joy.  Paul puts it well in 2 Corinthians 6:10.  In speaking of some of his hardships experienced in ministry he says he is sorrowful yet always rejoicing


I like that:  sorrowful yet always rejoicing.  How can I do that?


I believe that it starts with understanding that it is a outflow of God's work in us.  We cant conjure it up, it is something that emanates from God through the Holy Spirit's work in us.


It is also an issue of faith.  It is me taking hold of what I know to be true about God and His Word.  Regardless of circumstances I can be joyful because God is at work in me and around me and through me.  I exist to do His will and regardless of the impact to me, the work of God is good.


Paul says to rejoice always.  In other words we are to be rejoicing at all times because we know that His will is good. 


We can come back to David in Psalm 57:7-11

My heart, O God, is quiet and confident.

Now I can sing with passion your wonderful praises!

8 Awake, O my soul, with the music of his splendor-song!

Arise, my soul, and sing his praises!

My worship will awaken the dawn,

greeting the daybreak with my songs of light!

9 Wherever I go I will thank you, my God.

Among all the nations they will hear my praise songs to you.

10 Your love is so extravagant it reaches to the heavens,

Your faithfulness so astonishing it stretches to the sky!

11 Lord God, be exalted as you soar throughout the heavens.

May your shining glory be shown in the skies!

Let it be seen high above all the earth!


I will begin and end my day with thanksgiving.  I do this because I believe that God is good and His plans and purposes for me are good.  And as I live out this life of joy all the nations of the earth will see God and  glorify Him.


Lord let our rejoicing bring you glory.

31 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page