top of page
  • garykhan6

WHAT IS THE FOCUS OF YOUR GAZE

Updated: Sep 14, 2023



Psalm 23:4–5 (NIV) 4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. 5 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.


I was reading this verse recently while dealing with some tough life circumstances. As I was reading a verse that I have read so many times before in my life, the Holy Spirit asked me a simple question,

“Gary, what is the focus of your gaze?”

“Huh? What do you mean God?“

“Gary, what is the focus of your gaze? What are you looking at?”


You see, the reality is that right now in all of our lives, it is the best of times and the worst of times. It is never one or the other, it is both/and. There is the good and there is the bad. That is what Psalm 23 tells me.

  • I am walking through the valley of the shadow of death AND God is with me.

  • The enemy is ever-present in my life trying to steal, kill and destroy AND God prepares a table for me in the middle of it.

We tend to want just the one, but our lives will always be filled with the presence of both, so the real question is not, “When will the bad time end?”

Rather it should be, “What am I focusing on?”


Am I bemoaning the enemy in the room or am I rejoicing that in spite of the enemy’s presence, Father God has prepared a feast for me. Am I enjoying the feast or focused on the enemy?

Am I complaining about how long this valley of the shadow of death is or am I rejoicing and excited that GOD IS WITH ME! His rod and staff comfort me!


If you want to see this principle in action look no further than the story of Peter walking on water (Matthew 14). Peter walks on the water when his gaze is fixed on Jesus. When he fixes his gaze on the winds and the waves, he starts to sink. He was walking on the water in spite of the wind and the waves. The wind and the waves were present simultaneously with the presence of Jesus.


The two will always be present – but who/what you look at determines your outcome.


What is the focus of your gaze?


Turn your eyes upon Jesus

Look full in His wonderful face

And the things of the world

Will grow strangely dim

In the light of His glory and grace.

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page